Critically acclaimed jazz/funk ensemble OUTPUT / INPUT was born when Chaka Khan Alumni joined forces with Triple H Horns. Since then, the group has called on the services of some incredible musicians from across the globe.

The band plays a superb selection of soul and funk classics and features some of the industry’s best-known vocalists, such as Audrey Wheeler-Downing, Tower of Power lead vocalist Brent Carter and legendary Average White Band frontman Hamish Stuart.

With a steady stream of high-quality studio recordings, including "Here We Go Again," recorded for their new label Expansion Records and currently #1 on the UK soul chart and Amazon R&B charts, and "Soul Deep," an original release featuring Hamish Stuart, Output / Input are now ready to showcase their superb musicianship to live audiences.

Output/Input was formed during lockdown by Melvin Lee Davis, a Californian native and a skilled master bassist, composer, producer, and educator who is in high demand and is also Music Director for the "Queen of Funk," Chaka Khan. He has worked with, toured with, and recorded with some of the music industry’s most distinguished artists, including Lee Ritenour, George Duke, Gerald Albright, David Benoit, The Russ Freeman Project, Jeff Kashiwa, Diane Schurr, Will Downing, Lalah Hathaway, Patti Austin, Ledisi, and Angie Stone. Davis is also one of two writers of "Soul Train’s A Comin’ for Don Cornelius’ weekly television show "Soul Train".

Nick Mead (trumpet), Jacob Shaw (saxophone) and Patrick Hayes (trombone), are also founding members, known as Triple H Horns which is in demand as a horn section for artists, composers and producers worldwide: They have worked with Chaka Khan, Christina Aguilera, Chromeo, Disciples, A-Trak, Dave Taylor, Switch, Sarah Ruba, FKJ, Sir Tom Jones, James Arthur, John Newman, JP Cooper, Tyler Bates, Joe Hertz, Jamie Woon, V Festival, Netflix, ITV Studios, BBC TV, BBC Radio Live Lounge, Channel 4, and many other artists and companies.

The ensemble is completed by members Jay Williams on drums (Dave Koz, Chaka Khan, Marcus Miller), Adam Kovacs on percussion (Anastacia, Beverley Knight, Ladysmith Black Mambazo), Kanghyun Bu on guitar, Daeun Kim on keyboards and Jesse Milliner on keyboards (Dave Grusin, Lee Ritenour, Chaka Khan).

Funkgurus are delighted to represent Output / Input to bookers looking for flawless musicianship and crowd-pleasing live music delivered by consummate professionals.


Career | Shows | News | Links

Inquire about this artist

Work With Us

Our passion for the best in live music has made us the first choice of many leading event and festival organisers. Learn more below.

About Us

Latest News

  • We’re delighted to welcome legendary multi-Grammy and Emmy award-winning bassist Robert Hurst

  • We are delighted to welcome The Paul Reed Smith Band


York, United Kingdom.

Stay Tuned